Little Miss Woods Comma Elle

The sign read, “Please have picture taken and announce your destination”.

I stepped forward onto the mat and stared into the little webcam as the security guard asked me “Where are you going?”

“Ripley Grier” I announced.

The guard gestured to my right, and I stepped through the turnstile. Ahead of me, four elevators stood on the left and right. A door opened and I stepped inside.

I can do this, I thought to myself.

The doors opened and the large “Ripley Grier Studios” sign stood directly in front of me. Having been here for my Ghost audition in June, I knew I needed to take an immediate right and go up the stairs. Looking for room 17H, I walked down the hallway, before realizing I was going the wrong way. I checked my phone – I only had 5 minutes. I quickly turned back and found a hallway I had missed before.  Passing through some construction, I took a left and immediately ran into a group of 10 blonde girls, surrounding a table where a hipster looking guy sat in front of his macbook.

“Is this for Legally Blonde auditions?” I asked him.

Peering over his glasses, he looked at me and handed me a sheet of paper. “Just fill this out and bring it back with your headshot and resume”.

I walked through the crowd of girls and found an empty spot against the wall. It was the typical audition sheet, asking the usual personal information as well as weight and height. Before I had a chance to take a breath to even think about my song, I heard a voice say “The next group will be Rachael*, Alison*, and Jacob”. (Not their real names – I was too nervous to even notice). I followed the two girls in front of me to the door behind the table, hearing the remaining notes of a girl’s audition. “I am so much betterrrrrr than beforeeeeeeee” the girl sang. I tried to keep my mind occupied as the two girls in front of me entered the room, and exited shortly after.

“Are you ready?” a girl asked me, as she held the door open.

“Sure am!” I said, perhaps a bit too loudly.

I entered the room and noticed two young women sitting behind a table, with a piano to its left. “Hello, Jacob!” one said to me. “Ready to sing some Emmett for us?”

I took my place in the center of the room and took a deep breath. The pianist gave me my first two notes, and off we went.

The notes floated out of me, like the song was written with my voice in mind. Gesturing with my hands, I inhabited Emmett, feeling how proud he was of Elle for being considered for the internship, for fitting into Harvard, and for not being the stereotype I knew she wasn’t.

“With little miss Woods comma L!” I sang, my hands stretched out before me. The piano and I finished together. Silence.

“Thank you so much, Jacob”, one of the women said.

I grabbed my music binder, said thank you, and exited the room.

Later, I nervously checked Auditionupdate.com, to see if anyone had been writing about receiving callbacks. My heart began beating faster when I saw someone had posted. “Received an email callback today after my appointment this afternoon. Callback next week”. I looked at the time of the posting – 4:30pm. It was now 8pm, and I had not heard anything. No email. No call.

New York City – 1. Jacob – 0.

34 thoughts on “Little Miss Woods Comma Elle

    • Thank you! I realize now that I might have come off as a little bit “woe is me” at the end, which wasn’t my intention, because I’m not too bummed about not getting the callback. But I’m glad I was able to give you a peek into my world!

  1. I laughed at “Is this the Legally Blonde Audition?” I also enjoyed the glimpse into the acting world. The last time I auditioned for anything was in Grade 10 Drama for our school production of the Breakfast Club. I enjoyed the flow of your writing.

    • I’m glad you laughed! I tried to not reveal what I was auditioning for until the middle, because it’s such an offbeat show haha. Thank you so much for the comment!

      • Haha Joseph, thanks SO much for that comment. I literally laughed out loud haha. Thanks both of you for commenting. Sure, it can get tough when you feel like you gave everything you got, and it feels like it wasn’t good enough. But I just have to remind myself that in this city, the casting people can be so incredibly picky with who they want because they know that they will be able to find EXACTLY what they are looking for here. And I can’t try to give them what they want – I can only be myself. And I know I at least accomplished THAT, haha.

    • It is pretty nerve wracking, but once you do it a couple times you get right into the flow of it and it becomes second nature. That may or may not be a good thing, haha. Thanks so much!

    • Thanks so much! It’s alright that I didn’t get a call back – when I think about how many people probably auditioned, I understand the competition is crazy. Thanks so much for the comment 🙂

  2. Ugh, that much pain is the reason I didn’t pursue theatre. I just don’t have the cojones. Ironic, that I ended up in writing, where there is no rejection. *snort*
    Good luck out there! Or I guess I should say, break a leg!!

    • Haha, yeah the auditioning world is pretty cut throat, with 99% rejection most the time. But I know that it comes hand in hand with what I want to do, so I’m not too bummed about it. At least we both have writing to fall back on! haha

    • Thanks! I was hoping to give a glimpse into this world that not many people know about, but also I wanted to try and write something that was really only about 20 minutes of my life. I’m glad you liked it!

  3. That’s something I definitely don’t miss about auditioning. It’s all about keeping your chin up and trying again though, right? Getting your name out there is what is really important I think and maybe they’ll think of you for another production later =)

    Sending you good luck vibes from India. Something good is coming your way, I’m sure.

    • Yeah, it’s part of the business. Of course it sucks when you feel great after an audition and not get the callback or book the show, but the good part is that I felt that I had given my best and that’s all that matters. Thanks for the sweet words – and INDIA?! WHATTTTT

      • Studying abroad here for a bit! I’m hoping I’ll have a chance to see some theater in the next few months if I’m lucky. Definitely lots of Bollywood dancing in my future…

        Best of luck on your next audition!!

    • I haven’t read it yet but I picked it up once at Barnes & Noble and it looked really interesting – probably something I can definitely relate to. Do you recommend it?

      Thanks so much for the kind words! I was hoping to put into words how quick my brain was working to not stress out haha, so I hope that came across. I’m glad you liked it!

    • I’ve got a couple more auditions lined up for this fall, so there’s always the next thing to prepare for! I’m not too bummed about not getting the callback, especially since the experience gave me something great to write about!

  4. I think it’s wonderful that you’re auditioning! That’s so courageous! I truly believe that good things happen when you open yourself up, like you have. Bravo! (Just get me a good seat when your famous, okay. You’ll remember me, right? Right?)

  5. Isn’t it amazing how auditions have the power to make you feel invincible or like a total failure? From the moment you get the “thank you for coming” to the inevitable decisions its as though nothing else in the world matters/exists..

Leave a Reply

