A Room With A View? How ‘Bout A Roof With A View!

IMG_1148

Hey look, it’s my first Blog Selfie!

I’ve been trying to stay in my “niche” here in my corner of the blog-o-sphere, but I’ve realized that writing about New York City and my daily life here is kinda sorta that? So I’m gonna write about that.

I’ve been living in New York City for over a year now – I first moved here June 2012 into a one bedroom apartment in Washington Heights with my now ex boyfriend. I really loved that apartment – it had just been renovated before we moved in and all the appliances were also knew. And by the way, IT HAD A DISHWASHER. Not sure if you know this, but it’s hard to come by an apartment that has a dishwasher in it in New York. However, my ex and I broke up at the end of October last year, so he moved out and my current roommate Emma moved into my living room. The living situation was actually pretty good for us, but the best part about it was that it was only for 6 months. Once June 1st came around, we packed up all our stuff and moved on down to Harlem.

You know the book “A Room With A View”? When my friends have been searching for apartments, I always hear them saying “I just want to have some kind of view from my bedroom”, and I COMPLETELY understand. Most bedroom windows either look directly into another persons window, or are not the view you wanted. Me, I never really took that into consideration because I knew that my curtains would be closed most of the time anyway. However, instead of wanting a “room” with a view, how ’bout wanting a ROOF with a view?!

Uh helllllllo! Have you ever been on the observation deck of Rockefeller Center or the Empire State Building? The city view is incredible. And surprisingly, it’s not hard to find that view closer to home. When we moved into our new building, I kept saying “I really hope we have roof access”. We’re lucky that we live right across the street from a park, but having roof access is a total perk to living in New York. It’s like your own back yard, your own little get away. If you’re lucky, the roof has been finished and the tenants in the building all put money together to have nice furniture. Most places are not like that, but you can at least still walk around up there and sit on the ledge. And that’s exactly how my roof is. I’ve been going to the roof quite frequently lately – I laid out for a bit reading a book (currently reading The Da Vinci Code… more on that later), but have also been going up with my other roommate, Arturo, for a nice drink before we go to bed. The view is pretty incredible – it’s nice to see that we’re still in the city, and yet far enough away to live in an actual neighborhood.

All I want to do is put a hammock up there and sleep under the stars, because contrary to popular belief, you can actually see the stars from parts of New York City.

IMG_1119

Leave a Reply

