Why The Mask?

Lone-Ranger-helena-bonham-carter-34410082-500-378

I think that I am probably 1 of 50 people who saw The Lone Ranger since it’s opened, but I am here to tell you – it’s actually not bad!

Yeah sure, when you try to compare it to the immensely successful “Pirates” films, yeah, duh, this ain’t the same. BUT – was it funny? Sure! Was it exciting? YOU BET. Was it long? Oh yeah. Should you not see it? Depends.

Honestly, the movie has a lot going for it, and it’s a shame that people really rely on reviews these days to decide for them what to see. I am guilty, SOMETIMES, with that (only when I’m thinking about going to see a show and the only way I can is to pay more than $100 for a ticket, then okay yeah duh, have Ben Brantley tell me what is good or bad), but for movies I think it’s much different. In America, there are at least 4 movies opening every weekend. And we are ALL different when it comes to what we like in movies – if you like westerns, go see this! If you like Johnny Depp, see this! If your theatre is showing this at a matinée time and it only costs like $10 to see it, see it!

The best part is going to see this at the AMC Magic Johnson in Harlem because 1) It’s a 3 minute walk from my apartment, and 2) I was one of 6 people in the theatre so it felt like I was in my living room. (However I’ve noticed they now have security in the hallway to make sure people aren’t hanging out all day going to movie after movie…. not that that was what I wanted to do today or anything).

Leave a Reply

