C(owwwwwwchhhh)ouch to 5k(ouchhhhh)

In early June I went home to visit my family for the first time since Christmas. I wasn’t able to afford or find time to go home before then, and frankly, I’m at that point in my life where it’s unnecessary for me to go home every single month. (And let’s face it, every time I go home I spend the majority of my time with my best friend eating at all the same fast food places that I have here in New York but taste INFINITELY better in a small town).

Once I got back, I decided to actually start using my Planet Fitness membership (I’m poor) and start doing C25k. What is that, you ask? Well invisible unresponsive blog buddies, Couch to 5k is a program that helps you train to do a 5k.

First thing you should know about me: I HATE RUNNING. (Sorry for yelling).

I just don’t find any enjoyment from it. I’ve never experienced Runner’s High – for me it’s more like Runners Remorse because I just get so exhausted and my mind starts yelling at me “oh just stop already, you know you want to go to Burger King and eat it on the couch!”. And this is even coming from someone who played soccer for over 10 years growing up. And not only that, I played midfield. AKA RUNNING A TON AHHHHHH.

However, guess what? I’m almost done finishing WEEK 4. Now I don’t want to toot my own horn but… well I won’t because I don’t like the word “toot”. But I am extremely impressed with myself with getting this far. I believe there are 4 more weeks to get up to the 5k, and I know it’s going to get even more difficult for me (what? LONGER PERIODS OF RUNNING? WHY DOES GOD HATE ME).

But I’ve decided once I finish all 8 weeks, I’m going to buy some crazy colorful running shoes so when I’m wearing them walking to the gym (aka Starbucks) people will look at my shoes and be like “ah yes, Jacob must be a fabulous runner to own those shoes”. This will be my reward, along with other fashionable work out clothes that I will of course wear around my house all the time in lieu of wearing actual clothes.

Leave a Reply

