What a fantastic week!

This has been a pretty good week for me – one of those weeks where all I can think about is how much I LOVE being in the city, LOVE that I actually live here, and LOVE my school and my program.

I wrote that post on Tuesday about how I had an amazing audition. I’ve actually never felt better after walking out of a room – I had felt really strong on what I had presented and knew that no matter what, I would’ve been okay with just the audition, even if nothing came from it. Thursday I got an email from the director saying I got called back for one of the male leads. Out of the 3 male leads, this is really the only one I could actually sing… but the role itself? Eh, it’s not really me. And I knew that. I got the callback material and on Friday went to the callback. Immediately I knew that it wasn’t a good fit for me. I still felt really really strong about the scene as well as both songs, but it was one of those things where you knew all you could do was your best but that you weren’t what they were looking for.

Saturday afternoon we get another email for a 2nd round of callbacks – I had been cut. They no longer needed to see me for that role and they called back 4 out of the 8 of us that were scene. Ohhhhhh well. Today at 11 I have the ensemble call back which is a dance call. Now, uh, I DON’T DANCE. I wish I could say that I do…. but I don’t. So there is a large chance that I might not even be cast in the ensemble because of lack of dance ability. Whatever, I’ll just do what I can and if it’s not good enough, oh well. I would like to at least get ensemble so that I can be in a show with my friends and have a lot of fun, but it’s not going to be the end of the world if I don’t get cast.

Last night, I saw The Great Gatsby in 3D. I actually really liked it. I didn’t love it or thing that it was the perfect movie, but I thought it was very good. It had Baz Lurhmanns name written ALLLL over it – it was so stylized. But I really loved that part of it. I thought all the actors were just fine in their parts – nobody really stood out or anything for me. I’ve noticed that when things have a lot of hype around them, it really ruins it for me. Speaking of:

I saw Matilda on Wednesday with my friend Rachael. This show has had such INCREDIBLE hype for a year now, and my roommate had gone and seen it during previews. Naturally I went in expected the highest quality and left the theatre saying “well that was cute”. When I saw Kinky Boots, I left the theatre screaming “WOOOOOOO”, but I didn’t get that feeling from this. Now I know that comparing these two shows is like comparing apples to oranges, so I’ve really been trying not to. Overall, I did think the show was great. I thought the overall production was outstanding and the set and lights were amazing. However, the music didn’t grab me AT ALL. It was just so… British. Which isn’t bad, at all, but it was definitely a show I should’ve listened to before I went to see it. Thursday afternoon I was working on a paper listening to the cast recording and I started to really appreciate the music and understand it. So if you are thinking about going to see the show, I would really urge you to listen to the music at least once. It’s really odd music haha. I mean, it didn’t help that every actor (except Bertie Carvel) had TERRIBLE DICTION.

Anyway, onto my callback for the ensemble!

Leave a Reply

